Databases

All Readers

Detailed book reviews plus plot, setting, and character searches.

American Universities

Links to the homepages of most American universities may be found here.

Annual Credit Report

AnnualCreditReport.com is the official site to help consumers to obtain their free credit report.

Benefits.gov

Benefits.gov is a partnership of many Federal agencies and organizations with a shared vision - to provide improved, personalized access to government benefit programs.

BibMe

Automatic bibliography maker

Book Browse

Your guide to exceptional books.

Bureau of Citizenship and Immigration Services

This BCIS website provides access to forms online, how to obtain green cards and links to other federal government sites.

CAMIO -Catalog of Art Museum Images Online

CAMIO Catalog of Art Museum Images Online contains about 95,000 works of fine and decorative art from leading museums around the world. The scope of the collection ranges from 3000 BCE to the present, representing premiere examples of Asian, African, Latin American and Western art....

Career One Stop

Your pathway to career success. Tools to help job seekers, students, businesses, and career professionals Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor.

Chicago Tribune

"This publication's detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue is indexed thoroughly, so they have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers not only complete...

Code Academy

Learn to code.

CUB Energy Saver

CUB Energy Saver helps you save money on your bills, manage your energy use, and team up with friends and neighbors to make your community more energy efficient.

Cuentos y Más (Stories and More)

Bilingual storytime show for kids and adults to enjoy, while learning English and Spanish at the same time.

DOGO Books

Book reviews by kids for kids.

Ellis Island Online

The official site for Ellis Island allows you to search for ancestors who may have passed through here from 1892 to 1924.

Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

From the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC), this site provides information to small business owners and has been specifically designed for small businesses which may not have a human resources department or a specialized EEO staff. It also gives links to state and local agencies and to...

Family Search

Created and maintained by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, this site lets you search by last names through the church's Ancestral File, International Genealogical Index and Pedigree Resource File.

Federal Application for Student Aid (FAFSA)

The online Federal Application for Student Aid (FAFSA) is found here. Most colleges require this form to determine eligibility for financial aid. You may save your information and return at a later date.

Feed the Pig

Money shouldn't drive your future. But neither should debt. It's time for you to take control. Get what you deserve. Not just today. Your whole life. Just remember: small changes add up. Take steps to start saving today and you’ll build a solid financial future tomorrow.

GoodReads

Share book recommendations, see what your friends are reading, and even friend the library.

GreenFILE

A freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles,...

Herald Newspaper Digital Archive (1941-1945)

The Melrose Park Public Library received a 2009 LSTA Digital Imaging grant for its project Proviso Township in War and Peace: The Digitization of the Herald, 1941-1945.Over 9,000 pages of the local newspaper from the WWII era were digitized.

Illinois Student Assistance Commission

ISAC's mission is making college accessible and affordable for Illinois students.

Lee y serás (Read and You Will Be)

This resource "empowers and engages families and communities to foster children’s literacy development," with games, activities, and story time for children, along with resources for adults. 

Library Thing

Catalog your books online.

Mango Languages

Mango es un sistema de aprendizaje de idiomas en linea, enseña de una manera practica usando conversaciones reales y en su idioma nativo. Es la forma rápida, fácil y efectiva de aprender a hablar ingles!

Medline en español

Información de salud para usted

Medline Plus

A Service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health.

Merck Manual Home Edition

This online version of the Merck Manual is written for individuals looking for medical information in terms the non-medical professional can understand.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1849-1987)

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Roots Web

"The oldest and largest free online community for genealogists," this site includes links to dozens of genealogy related sites and resources.

SME Toolkit

Free small business information

Snag a Job

Find hourly employment.

Speak Speak

Speakspeak.com is a resource for English language learners. You'll find interactive practice exercises, grammar explanations and vocabulary lists.

Stop You're Killing Me!

"A Website to die for...if you love mysteries"

Study Blue

Free online studying tool for high school and college students that allows you to make online flashcards and notes. Make, study, score, store, and collaborate in order to ace your classes.

Teacher Reference Center

This database provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more for K-12 Teachers & Librarians.

Thomas (Library of Congress)

Legislative information from the Library of Congress.

Typing.com (Typing Web)

Typing.com is a free online typing tutor & keyboarding tutorial for typists of all skill levels. Typing.com includes entertaining typing games, typing tests, and more.

USA.gov

The U.S. Government's official web portal

WorldCat.org

Connect to the catalogs of libraries worldwide.